Webinar Carbon Pricing

Carbon Pricing in the power and industry sector – Experiences, Insights and Current Discussions in the EU and Japan


Background & Content

Japan as well as Germany and the EU have committed to decarbonize their economies and reach “net zero” GHG emissions by 2050 the latest. While the goal is clear, the pathway towards net zero is yet to be defined. Carbon pricing, which harnesses the power of private actors in changing their production, consumption, and investment decisions, can play an central role in a broader strategy for cost-optimized mitigation efforts.

The Emission Trading System (ETS) is a central pillar of the EU's climate change strategy and a crucial mechanism for cost-effectively reducing GHG emissions from the regulated sectors. Germany just launched its National Emissions Trading System (in German: Nationales Emissionshandelssystem, or nEHS) for heating and transportation fuels. Japan has recently started the process for the potential introduction of carbon pricing and established a related working group.

However, carbon pricing is no silver bullet. Depending on the country’s social and economic structures (such as the size of the industrial sector) along with its regulatory environment, the challenges for carbon pricing mechanisms differ. Therefore, establishing effective carbon pricing mechanisms requires to carefully selecting the appropriate design options. In addition, carbon pricing schemes need to be embedded in a wider set of policies and be backed by political will and other stakeholders’ acceptance.

The webinar aims to provide information on the experience to date with carbon pricing mechanisms for the power and industry sector in Germany/ the EU and Japan focusing on questions such as:

  • Trading vs. taxation approaches: different circumstances – different answers?
  • Easy wins vs. huge challenges: different phases of carbon pricing towards net zero 2045/2050.
  • Limits to carbon pricing and the role of alternative and/or supporting instruments and policies.


Date:
06. July 2021, 9:30 – 11:00 CET / 16:30 – 18:00 JST


Program

9:30 CET / 16:30 JST

Welcome by the MC (Johanna Schilling, ECOS)

9:35 CET / 16:35 JST

Greeting address by the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU), Germany

9:40 CET / 16:40 JST

Input Presentation: Experiences with Carbon Pricing in Germany and the EU

Christopher Kardish, adelphi / Secretariat of the International Carbon Action Partnership (ICAP)

9:55 CET / 16:55 JST

Input Presentation: Experiences with Carbon Pricing in Japan and Current Discussions

Junko Ogawa, Senior Researcher, Environment Unit Institute of Energy Economics, Japan (IEEJ)

10:10 CET / 17:10 JST

Panel discussion: Are carbon markets an effective tool on the way to GHG neutrality?

Chair: Christopher Kardish, adelphi/ICAP

Participants:

Junko Ogawa, Senior Researcher, Environment Unit, The Institute of Energy Economics, Japan (IEEJ)

Dr. Stefan Thomas, Director Energy, Transport and Climate Policy, Wuppertal Institute

N.N., DG CLIMA, EU Commission (tbc)

10:40 CET / 17:40 JST

Q&A with the Audience

11:00CET / 18:00 JST

End


Language: English
 

Organized by:

 

 

Go back